Occupational therapy

The pediatric occupational therapist works with the child (0-21 years old) and the parent to promote the accomplishment of activities and the acquisition of age-appropriate autonomy. Through his vision and his ability to analyze the dynamics between the child’s abilities, his environment and the components required for the activity, the occupational therapist proposes a treatment plan adapted to his client. While occupational therapists are typically sought after to promote skills such as the development of fine motor skills (pencil, scissors) and the ability to perform at school, they can also help your child or teenager with the following difficulties:

  • Externalized behavioral problems
  • Difficulty with coordination – Sleep disturbances
  • Difficulties with eating
  • Difficulties of acquisition in terms of cleanliness or regression in relation to cleanliness
  • Sensory particularities affecting functioning such as hyper-responsiveness (sensitivity to sounds, touches and smells) or hyperreactivity (child having difficulty controlling his strength or moving around constantly).
  • Any other difficulty affecting the child’s achievement in life.

Cost: $100/hour

Our occupational therapy professional:

Benjamin Pandev-Girard graduated from the Master’s degree in Occupational Therapy at the Université de Sherbrooke in 2013 and is a member in good standing of the Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec. Since the end of his career, he has been very interested in the pediatric clientele, particularly the impact of stress and psychological trauma on the development and regulation of emotions. His practice is based on hundreds of hours of continuing education in order to offer an assessment and treatment to his clients and their families that are effective and based on current knowledge. He has extensive clinical experience in school and preschool intervention and with the Direction de la Protection de la jeunesse atop from having hands on experience with multi-handicapped clients in the development and intervention of these clienteles. Benjamin is now a lecturer and mentor at the Université de Sherbrooke. He regularly gives training to front-line workers in order to equip them with the tools they need to design and integrate interventions that take into account their reality and the effects of stress on children’s occupational participation.

Ergothérapie

L’ergothérapeute en pédiatrie (0-21 ans) travaille avec l’enfant ainsi que son parent pour favoriser l’accomplissement des activités et l’acquisition de l’autonomie en vertu de l’âge. De par sa vision et sa capacité d’analyse des dynamiques entre les habiletés de l’enfant, son environnement ainsi que les composantes requises pour l’activité, l’ergothérapeute propose un plan de traitement adapté à son client. Alors que l’ergothérapeute est typiquement recherché afin de favoriser des habiletés telles que le développement de la motricité fine (crayon, ciseau) et des aptitudes afin de pouvoir s’accomplir à l’école, il peut également aider votre enfant et adolescent en lien avec des difficultés se manifestant comme suit :

• Troubles de comportements extériorisés

• Difficulté de coordination • Troubles du sommeil

• Difficultés à l’alimentation

• Difficultés d’acquisition au niveau de la propreté ou régression en lien avec la propreté

• Particularités sensorielles affectant le fonctionnement de type hyperréactivité (sensibilité aux sons, touchers et odeurs) ou hyporéactivité (enfant ayant de la difficulté à contrôler sa force ou bougeant sans cesse.

• Tout autre difficulté affectant l’accomplissement de l’enfant dans sa vie.

Coût : 100$/heure

Notre professionnel en ergothérapie:

 

 

Benjamin Pandev-Girard est gradué de la maitrise en ergothérapie de l’Université de Sherbrooke en 2013 et membre en règle de l’Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec. Dès la fin de son parcours, il voue un grand intérêt à la clientèle pédiatrique notamment les impacts du stress et des traumatismes psychologiques sur le développement et la régulation des émotions. Sa pratique s’appuie sur des centaines d’heures de formation continue afin de pouvoir offrir une évaluation et un traitement à ses clients et leur famille qui sont efficaces et basés sur les connaissances actuelles. Il possède une expérience clinique exhaustive dans l’intervention en milieu scolaire et préscolaire, auprès de la Direction de la Protection de la jeunesse ainsi qu’auprès de clients polyhandicapés dans l’aménagement et l’intervention auprès de ces clientèles. Benjamin est maintenant chargé de cours et mentor à l’Université de Sherbrooke. Il donne régulièrement des formations aux intervenants de première ligne afin de les outiller au niveau d’aménagement et d’interventions intégratives de leur réalité et des effets du stress sur les enfants au niveau de leur participation occupationnelle.